Is Cyprus A Part Of The Commonwealth?

Published Categorized as CYPRUS
Is Cyprus A Part Of The Commonwealth

Yes, the Republic of Cyprus is a part of the Commonwealth. Cyprus joined the Commonwealth in 1961, a year after independence from Britain. In fact, Cyprus is one of only three Commonwealth member countries located in Europe, the other two being Malta and the UK.

You can click the links below to learn about different cities in Cyprus.

What is the Commonwealth?

What is the Commonwealth

In simple words, the Commonwealth is a term used for “common well-being.”

Commonwealth is also called Commonwealth of Nations, and formerly it used to be called “British Commonwealth of Nations.”

Why was it called the British Commonwealth of Nations?
Because the countries who joined the commonwealth were colonies of Great Britain at one time in history.

Today, the Commonwealth is a free association of sovereign states, including the United Kingdom and many former dependencies who have chosen to maintain ties of friendship and practical cooperation with each other.

The Commonwealth differs from other international bodies. It has no formal constitution or bylaws.

The modern Commonwealth isn’t necessarily an association of former British Colonies. Rwanda, Cameroon, and Mozambique are the three countries in the Commonwealth that were never a part of the British Empire.

Membership of the Commonwealth is neither automatic nor compulsory for former colonies too. It’s totally self-choice.

Membership is voluntary and based on a shared commitment to values, including liberty, human rights, trade, and good governance.

Joining of Commonwealth for Cyprus

Cyprus joined the Commonwealth in 1961

As initially, the Commonwealth was an association of former British colonies, Cyprus was supposed to be a part of it automatically after Cyprus got independence from the UK in 1960 A.D.

But that didn’t happen. Cyprus had to join with all the required formalities, and hence, in 1961, Cyprus became a part of the Commonwealth.

What benefits does Cyprus get from being a country in the Commonwealth?

Commonwealth member countries benefit from being part of a mutually supportive community of independent and sovereign states, aided by more than 80 Commonwealth organizations.

Commonwealth supports Cyprus for the growth of sustainable development and peace. They also help to strengthen governance, build inclusive institutions, and promote justice and human rights.

They also assist Cyprus regarding the economy, trade, debt, and climate change.

The Commonwealth of Nations 2020 Members

There are 54 countries in the Commonwealth, Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe, and the Pacific. Commonwealth countries are diverse as they are amongst the world’s biggest, smallest, richest, and poorest countries.

Commonwealth members 2020

Read the following articles to know more about Cyprus:

Pros & Cons of Living In Cyprus

Is Cyprus a Third World Country?

Why is Cyprus a good holiday destination?

What is Cypriot Halloumi? 

Why does Cyprus drive on the left?

By Aashish Poudel Genuine

Aashish Poudel Genuine is a web developer, writer and currently a student in Cyprus. He has created this site to help people who are willing to come to Cyprus or want to know more about this country.

Leave a comment